One Upping Recycling

I live in Utah and our access to recycling centers really sucks and what they take is very limited. I haven’t seen very many people using reusable bags either, at least not on this end of the valley. Recycling is great, but I think it’s greatly understated how much recycling and how creative its getting is really going on out there right now. Lately I’ve been fascinated with the concept of upcycling things and decided to see what etsians have been upcycled.

The Etsy artists featured in this gift guide are:

monicamarie, loranscruggs, giandpindo, woollyfabulous, handmadepretties, squigglechick, spoonfulofchocolate, reclaim2fame, glamarita, mydeepbluec, Tanith, TaffyCraft, TwilightSpells, buttercupbloom, katwise, jjevensen, fieldday, Wildewear, bottlehood, shortees, zJayne, talkingsquid, greenatheart, mklawrie, SageOfTheTrades, obotek, Design2009, recycledartco, tomboyART, and daletalley

Tomorrow’s guide: The Gift of Choice

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tracyb
    Dec 23, 2009 @ 12:09:09

    Thanks for adding my luggage tag to your post!! I live in Seattle, where we can recycle just about everything & it’s SO wonderful!!! I have a friend that lives in southern Idaho & suffers your same pain of pretty much NO recycling. I have such a hard time wrapping my brain around why more places do not have recycling programs.

    Reply

  2. zJayne
    Dec 23, 2009 @ 12:36:47

    What a SUPER view of many perfectly upcycled products. Thank you for including my “dryer pillow sheets” – they are long lasting and making a difference for so many of us. Many of these finds I’ve been lucky enough to find on my own and just love the new ones you’ve included that I had not found as yet.

    Thank You!

    Jane of zJayne

    Reply

  3. wendyz
    Dec 24, 2009 @ 08:54:59

    Yay! Yay for the Lovers of Upcycling, Repurposing and Reusing!!! Thanks so much for including a nod to my lambswool elephant plushie! xoxo

    Reply

  4. obo
    Dec 24, 2009 @ 15:32:39

    great theme! and thanks for including the raygun. :]

    Reply

  5. TwilightSpells
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 18:36:50

    Thanks so much for including my Tea cup candle in your fabulous gift guide!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

